Home > How To > How To Lock Internet Explorer To One Website

How To Lock Internet Explorer To One Website

Contents

If the kid is determined, he would find a way anyway. @Mrcloseencounters, there might be a way to uninstall IE, but not its COM components so that the windows update will Note that "sub-sites" like "mail.example.com" are not automatically approved just because "example.com" is approved! CTRL-ALT-DEL could still be run to open the task manager and then run explorer.exe but this page has instructions for remapping CTRL-ALT-DEL so that it no longer functions as the three-finger-salute. You can add other rating services back later if you change your mind about using this method. 18. have a peek here

Free proxy service websites (search on Google for "free web proxy") can hide further web page browsing from parental controls. If you do not see it, you probably didn't save thumbsdown.rat to the right place in step 4. Reply Nat Jay August 13, 2010 at 7:08 am I stopped using IE in 2006. Email Reset Password Cancel Need to recover your Spiceworks IT Desktop password?

How To Lock Internet Explorer To One Website

To add a website to the block list (meaning that this user will not be able to access the site), type the URL into the box and click “Block.” You can Copy and paste the following into Notepad (everything within the parentheses). Reply Daniel November 23, 2016 at 8:27 am A quick and simple trick to encourage users to use an alternative browser is to first unpin the IE shortcut icon from the

Configured via Opera->Settings->Preferences->Advanced->Programs (Optional but recommended) Backup/export your Windows registry. If you have installed Windows in a nonstandard place, you will need to account for that. 99% of readers don't need to worry about this. 5. Of course you are! How To Allow Only One Website In Google Chrome All a clever little eight-year old girl needs to do is open up the Internet Options, click on “Automatically detect settings” and she’s back in business.

What is the point of a borderless fullscreen window? How To Block Internet Explorer In Windows 7 You are doing this so that we can set up our special "fake" rating service that doesn't rate any sites. I would consider looking into OpenDNS-- filtering everything but allowing the single site you want employees to be able to access. 0 Cayenne OP Ron93561 Jan 10, 2013 Or only allow for one browser (IE)? 0 Poblano OP beechmeup Aug 2, 2016 at 6:56 UTC What I did was personalize our firewall (fortinet) 0 Text Quote

Thanks for voting! How To Restrict Internet Access To Only Certain Sites Using a simple username like “kids,” or the child’s first name, is fine. Click to the “General” tab, then click “Create Password.” Enter and confirm your password, then click “OK.” Now, when you enter the Content Advisor settings, you’ll be prompted to enter this Now you will not see Content Advisor section.

How To Block Internet Explorer In Windows 7

A website says I have spyware, is it true? https://www.boutell.com/newfaq/browser/restrictie.html Click “Allow or Block Websites” on the left side of the screen. How To Lock Internet Explorer To One Website You may have to create the Internet Explorer and Restrictions keys if they aren’t already there. How To Allow Only One Website In Windows 7 By continuing to use our site, you agree to our cookie policy.

Advertisement Latest Giveaways TerraMaster F2-220 NAS Review and Giveaway TerraMaster F2-220 NAS Review and Giveaway ZTE Axon 7 Review ZTE Axon 7 Review Oculus Touch VR Controllers Review and Bundle Giveaway navigate here share|improve this answer answered Jul 11 '11 at 23:56 KCotreau 23.6k43760 add a comment| up vote 0 down vote Please check Inteset Secure Lockdown they have a kiosk version for IE share|improve this answer edited Jul 20 '11 at 14:08 answered Jul 11 '11 at 19:18 music2myear 20.9k43777 I am using Windows 7 Home Premium, and it does not have You can visit him on Twitter or his website. Internet Explorer Content Advisor

by Vikram Singh on Jan 10, 2013 at 6:20 UTC Spiceworks Support 8 Next: Not collecting inventory Join the Community! If IE doesn’t have a traditional toolbar layout, the Tools button will look like a cog in the upper right-hand corner. 2 Access the Content Advisor general settings. Click OK / Apply all the way! Check This Out So to bring up Content Advisor, open the Run box, type the following and hit Enter: RunDll32.exe msrating.dll,RatingSetupUI Now you can click on the General tab and follow the same procedure.

I am sure some of you are fully aware of this as well. How To Block Internet Browsing In Windows 7 Wrong! I am sure that many of you want to use the Security tab and the Restricted Sites one, but this does not actually restrict the site, it just limits what can

I have never tried it but you could push this redirection out via GPO but i would look at the firewall solution first... 0 Cayenne OP Kelso Jan

Microsoft has been slow on web standards, I'll admit, but I find IE to be a smoother, more solid browsing experience than Firefox and better on personal security than Chrome (see: I have 3 users that I want to restrict to only one Domain (i.e. Home About wikiHow Jobs Terms of Use RSS Site map Log In Mobile view All text shared under a Creative Commons License. Block Internet Explorer Gpo Reply George May 5, 2015 at 6:30 pm This was perfect for what I needed.

Home About wikiHow Jobs Terms of Use RSS Site map Log In Mobile view All text shared under a Creative Commons License. How do I created the group policy that restricts then to the one domain? 0 Pimiento OP nulakapadmaraju Feb 4, 2015 at 10:35 UTC 1st Post ONE PC Please read the entire post & the comments first, create a System Restore Point before making any changes to your system & be careful about any 3rd-party offers while installing freeware. this contact form Click to the “General” tab, then click “Create Password.” Enter and confirm your password, then click “OK.” Now, when you enter the Content Advisor settings, you’ll be prompted to enter this

Be warned that there are some Internet applications that make use of the connection settings in your Internet Options. Your child will only be protected by your web browsing filters when logged into the child account. Reply Mrcloseencounters August 13, 2010 at 1:13 am You have to have IE if for no other reason than to install updates/patches/fixes. (You choose the term) MC Reply cookieman August 13, The looked beautiful and many people commented how great they were, but the the people using IE called, email, etc.

The child will not be protected by web restriction when using any other account but the child account. How do I share my Internet connection with more than one computer? That's just my opinion. Reply Terrapin J April 5, 2015 at 8:06 pm actually you can.

Click "OK" again to dismiss "Internet Options." Making Sure It Worked That's it! Click to the “Approved Sites” tab. share|improve this answer answered May 29 '12 at 17:17 art abrahamson 1 1 Do you have first-hand experience with this product that commends it more highly than kiosk mode as We got a few very happy converts out of this.

The website had to be tweaked a bit and still not everything was perfectly viewed on IE. Adult websites, however, will be prefaced with a warning message. 12 Add websites to your "Allow" and "Block" lists. UPDATE adding link with additional info: Here's an article regarding setting up Windows 7 for a kiosk-like interface lockdown: http://jaredheinrichs.com/how-to-turn-a-windows-7-pc-into-a-kiosk.html It includes tips on how to lock down a computer to As you can see, there are several ways to skin this cat.

So it just best to keep it and update it. Method 3 Windows 7 and Vista 1 Open Internet Explorer and go to Tools > Internet Options.[3] You can enable web filtering for Internet Explorer (IE) by turning on and configuring With an Electrical Engineering degree and working as an IT Programmer/Analyst, his writing focuses on life hacking and self improvement through automation. Community Q&A Search Add New Question Ask a Question 200 characters left Submit Already answered Not a question Bad question Other If this question (or a similar one) is answered twice