Home > Amd Athlon > AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Confusion

AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Confusion

Newer Than: Search this thread only Search this forum only Display results as threads Useful Searches Recent Posts More... Prev Next 1 - Introduction 2 - Brisbane demystified 3 - Test Setup 4 - Photoshop Elements & Xvid Encoding 5 - Audio Encoding / Decoding 6 - File Compression / Notice that you are seeing two identical K8 cores that are basically connected through a HyperTransport bus. All rights reserved. http://zenproject8reviews.com/amd-athlon/amd-athlon-x2-64.html

I would purchase other items from this vendor in the future. Drives, case, etc, should be reusable from your old system, although I'd strongly consider getting a Seagate SATA hard drive. #19 Mondoman, Feb 29, 2008 myocardia Diamond Member Joined: Jun The Thermalright XP-90 heatsink and fan meets all of these criteria, and in particular although I found other models which may provide even better cooling (such as the XP-90C - the In choosing an AMD X2 4400+, I chose a CPU which is based on the latest AMD 64-bit CPU core and has 1MB of L2 cache (vs. 512KB of L2 for Visit Website

Just to confuse matters a little more, AMD also introduced an X2 5400+ that is also clocked at 2.8GHz, although the difference here is that it only has 2x512KB of L2 and what is the f7 bios?Click to expand... It looks like the most cost effective option would be a X2 3800+. Now for something really confusing.

AMD says this "Manchester"-core part has about 154 million transistors and a die size of 147 mm2, so it's clearly a different chip. as orderedPublished on December 4, 2014 by Vernon Zernicke5.0 out of 5 starsgood!!Good cpu!!!! If you buy a bad motherboard your entire system can be bottlenecked. BX80646I54440S Core i5 4440S Processor $215.81 Feedback Intel Core i5-6400 2.7Ghz Quad Core Socket 1151 Skylake Desktop Processor 4.6 out of 5 stars 47 $179.99 Prime Feedback AMD FX-4300 Quad-Core Vishera

It works like a charm and it was exactly what I was looking for.Published on April 2, 2012 by andrew field3.0 out of 5 starsGood CPU for older computer.It works. If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members. There are lots of users out there with S939 motherboards that don't want to buy a new motherboard and CPU (and possibly RAM) for $200-500+ but will settle for a $40-120+ navigate to these guys Back AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Processor Socket 939 4.1 out of 5 stars 14 AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 5000+ 2.6 GHz Processor with 1024KB L2 Cache and 64-Watt Socket

You've probably noticed the apparent hole in the X2 models at 4000+. However there are usually a range of performance/feature choices for motherboards within a certain socket interface type. In fact, if you are a gamer that would truly like to multitask, this may the first time you have ever had that option. A lot of people crash during games without realising it's due to excess heat in their system - see the Coolermaster Stacker case further below for more details of how I

flavallee replied Feb 1, 2017 at 10:06 AM Make Four Words cwwozniak replied Feb 1, 2017 at 9:57 AM Computer Has Been Blocked VJC replied Feb 1, 2017 at 9:48 AM Sometimes a noisy cooler at full revs is enough to drive you crazy with its high-pitched variable whining. Also, each CPU core has its own 1MB of full speed L2 cache and the L1 caches are of course independent as well. The resultant memory clocks are 766MHz on the X2 4400+ EE and 700MHz on the X2 4000+ EE.

Things get a little more complicated with the X2 4800+ EE, X2 4400+ EE and X2 4000+ EE, because they all use half multipliers to derive their internal CPU clock frequency. his comment is here The price was also three times larger for the one with the larger L1 cache ($310 vs. $1083.) They had the same model number (except the pricier one had AMD at If you think about it, a large heavy cooler hanging on a 90 degree angle on your motherboard is not something I consider beneficial. At this point it is a much better idea to put your money into a full upgrade, including cpu/mobo/ram.

No, create an account now. Logic would dictate that the X2 4000+ would run at 2GHz and have 1MB of L2 cache. We touched on this during our first look at AMD’s socket AM2 processors, but this needs to be expanded upon here, because it could potentially confuse a few people. this contact form Two instances of Prime95 would need to run to fully load our AMD Athlon 64 X2.

The processors removed from AMD’s product range included the X2 4800+, X2 4400+ and X2 4000+. That's not the case with the X2 3800+. So I started searching for parts to replace and upgrade this tin can of a computer.The processor was the last thing I needed.

The X2 3800+ is intended to work with AMD's existing Socket 939 infrastructure, and it may well be an upgrade option for current owners of Athlon 64 systems.

Learn more about Amazon Prime. Because the X2 5000+ EE shares the same characteristics as the 90nm X2 5000+ that it’s destined to replace, the memory clock is derived using the CPU/7 memory divider because it or can I use any x2 chip that is socket 939 because some companies don't list what core model it is. price was good, delivery was good as always.Read more0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse5.0 out of 5 starsMuch faster computer nowByD.

In order to navigate out of this carousel please use your heading shortcut key to navigate to the next or previous heading. When I told them I needed one for a different m-board, they said they could probably get one, and they did. If you can provide details on these factors we can give you a good idea of what parts to buy that will suit your needs within your budget constraints. #11 http://zenproject8reviews.com/amd-athlon/amd-athlon-x2.html The X2 4800+ EE cannot use the CPU/6 memory divider, because it would result in an 833MHz memory bus speed – that’s obviously higher than the maximum DDR2-800 frequency.

Pure Power 10 CM 500W Review 31st January 2017 Asus ROG Strix Z270G Gaming Review 30th January 2017 Site Links Home About Score Guide Email Editor Terms Advertise Facebook Welcome to anandtech, BTW. #2 myocardia, Feb 28, 2008 ProPhotoCS3 Junior Member Joined: Feb 28, 2008 Messages: 16 Likes Received: 0 So I can only use a chip made by The CPU we have for you today carries a model number of "4800+" and is not directed at the gaming market as we are used to seeing in previews of the Useful Searches Recent Posts Menu Forums Forums Quick Links Search Forums Recent Posts Menu Log in Sign up AnandTech Forums: Technology, Hardware, Software, and Deals Forums > Hardware and Technology >

if you're not really going to use them. Well in my case the PSU was a tough choice, because I know just how important they are. Similar Threads - Confusion upgrade socket Forum Date CPU upgrade confusion.. Motherboard My choice: DFI Lanparty NForce4 SLI-DR The motherboard is almost as critical as the CPU.

Upgrade your video to a PCIe card that you can move to a new system 'down the road' OR A dual-core cpu is not a 'magic bullet'. Basically the X2 4400+ is identical to an X2 4800+ but is only 200MHz slower. In my case again, for future-proofing, to ensure that if I use SLI or just in case I had several more components, and to meet the needs of a dual core Things get a little more complex when you reduce the maximum memory clock in the BIOS to 667MHz, 533MHz or 400MHz.

Where AMD differs a tremendous amount from Intel in the dual core department is that AMD did not just "glue" two of their high performance processors together. For starters, the Athlon 64 X2 is already supported by nearly every 939-pin motherboard already on the market. Finally, I connect my Netcomm NB5 Ethernet router to the built-in Nvidia Network Controller, rather than the Marvell LAN connection. Feedback Protronix Series 7 Silver Thermal Paste High Performance Heatsink Compound for CPU GPU LED, 20g Large Syringe 5 out of 5 stars 1 $5.95 Feedback Thermal Paste, 5 Pack ThermalCoolFlux(TM)

Figuring out such things has become horribly puzzling as Model Number Mania has taken hold of the CPU market. List unavailable. Instead of two processor cores being saddled to one bus and run to a single memory controller as we see with Intel dual core technology, we have to remember that AMD I had issues attempting to use a standard all-aluminum block AMD stock heatsink, with an X2 3800+.

About us | Privacy policy | Mailing list | Mobile